top of page

Growing in Unity - Day 5

Hello Unity Friends! I can't believe this is the final day of my Growing in Unity week for Unity Stamp Company. I hope you have enjoyed the card projects I've shared this week. You all have left the sweetest comments each day. Don't forget to comment today too for a chance to win one of two $20 Unity gift credits. The two winners will be randomly selected from the comments at the end of this week. For my final post I thought I would share three flat shaker cards - I've been having fun making this style of shaker card lately. These three cards were the birthday cards I made for my kids this year (April and May birthdays).


For my daughter's 18th birthday card, I trimmed a piece of kraft cardstock to 4" x 5-1/4". I stamped the cake stand from Layered Cake Builder with Delicata Golden Glitz ink, then the four cake layers from the same stamp set were stamped in 4 shades of purple Distress Oxide inks. I stamped Happy Birthday also from that set in Memento Tuxedo Black ink and used a fine-liner to draw the sketchy border. I created the flat shaker out of the card panel by trimming a piece of clear acetate, folding it over to the back side, and sealing it up using Scor-Tape on three sides, leaving one side open for the shaker bits. I put a good amount of iridescent sequins, Galaxy sequins by Gina K Designs, and some tiny iridescent balls that are kind of like tiny beads, but without the holes in the center - but they make a really good noise when you shake them! After the shaker bits were added all that was left was to seal up the fourth side and glue the edge-to-edge shaker panel to the card base.


For my middle man's 16th birthday I die cut a circle out of scrap paper and used it as a stencil over my card panel to ink blend three shades of blue Distress Oxides for a night sky look. I used a blending foam inked up in white pigment ink to create the faint moon peeking in from the left side, then stamped the mountain and trees silhouette from Bloom in Color {kom 5/23} in VersaFine Clair Twilight ink, and ink blended around the edges of the card panel. I made the flat shaker, filled it with lots of iridescent shaker bits and beads, sealed it up, and glued it down onto the grey kraft cardstock base. I stamped Happy Birthday from Gotta Love Sentiments in Twilight ink, inked up the edges, and popped it up on foam tape over the shaker panel.


My youngest son turned 13 and follows is the card I made for him. I made an embossed-resist card panel by stamping and white heat embossing past background of the month Tropical Palm {bkg 6/21} onto a card panel and ink blending over the top with Distress Oxide inks. I made another edge-to-edge/flat shaker for the background and again filled it with shaker bits. I stamped the surfboards from Surf's Up - Totally Cool in black ink and water colored them using the same Distress Oxides as I used for the background. I used the Happy Birthday from Gotta Love Sentiments again (I told you that set is a must-have!) and heat embossed it in Liquid Platinum. I fussy-cut the surfboards, glued them to the back of the sentiment strip, glued the whole piece onto the shaker panel, and glued the shaker panel to the black card base.


For a little bonus, I thought I'd share the programs my daughter and I made for the Evening With the Arts Senior Showcase at her high school - since we're on the topic of shaker cards today! We made 50 of these babies - it was kind of a lot of work! But everyone loved them and I don't think anyone had seen such a thing before. Every last one of them disappeared from the basket she had by her art display. We used Wonky Stripes Background stamped with Distress Oxides and made 10 each of 5 different colors. We made flat shakers out of all those panels and die cut a banner shape for her required name and a quote on the front. Inside was information about the art classes she's taken, awards she's received, future college plans, etc.




Well, thanks so much for visiting my blog during my GIU week. I've had so much fun sharing my card projects with you all. I really appreciate all the sweet comments you have left and have enjoyed reading each and every one of them. Have a fabulous weekend!


20170510_080310.jpg

Hi, thanks for stopping by!

I’m Amy Williams and I'm hoping to make this a place for sharing my crafty attempts.

Let the posts
come to you.

Thanks for submitting!

bottom of page