top of page

Growing in Unity - Day 5

Hello Unity Friends! I can't believe it's Day 5 of my Growing in Unity week for Unity Stamp Company. I hope you have enjoyed the projects I have been sharing this week. You all have left the sweetest comments each day. Don't forget to comment today too for a chance to win one of two $20 Unity gift credits. The two winners will be randomly selected from the comments at the end of this week.


For my last GIU post I thought I would share the Valentine's Day cards I made for my husband and our three kiddos. For these cards I used the stamp sets Suck Without You and Gnome-One Like You. I also used the Farmhouse Plaid {Paper Pack} for my cards.



 


Just recently I've been seeing a lot of "mini slimline" cards, so I thought I'd give that size a try for my husband's card. In fact I see more of those in my future - it's actually kind of a fun size to work with! After doing a little research for the size, I made a 3-1/2" x 6-1/2" side-folding card base. I cut the kraft layer 3-1/4" x 6-1/4" and the plaid paper 3" x 6". After gluing down the kraft paper I decided to tear the edges of the plaid paper to change up the look - a first for me, but I like the added texture! I used a couple of Gina Marie Designs stitched oval dies to cut my white and kraft card stock layers. I stamped the slightly snarky (read: right up my alley!) sentiment in VersaFine Onyx black ink and clear embossed it. I used a blender brush to blend a little color to the outer portion of my sentiment piece and colored in the little hearts with a Sakura Gelly Roll pen in metallic gold. I mounted the sentiment onto the kraft layer with some foam tape and mounted both to the plaid paper with some more foam tape for added dimension. The final touch was a few small, gold sequins.


 

I decided to make little shaker cards for the kiddos' valentines. The card bases are 4-1/4" x 4-1/4" to which I glued squares of that same size plaid paper. I stamped and clear heat embossed three of those adorable little gnomes onto some watercolor paper and painted them using my Distress Oxide inks as watercolors, matching each gnome to the plaid paper I chose. Once they were completely dry I used Nuvo Aqua Shimmer in Glitter Gloss on the pink hearts for a little sparkle. I cut 4-1/4" x 4-1/4" squares of kraft card stock and used the Gina Marie Designs Peekaboo Square Die set to cut out the shaker windows. After assembling the shaker portion (acetate, a double layer of foam tape, and a mixture of gold and silver tiny hearts and clear sequins) I fussy cut the gnomes and glued them to the card front. I cut little strips of kraft card stock, stamped and clear heat embossed the sentiment on each, cut the left side into a banner shape, used a black marker on all the edges, and foam-mounted them. I couldn't find any embellishments that looked right so I left them as-is. In retrospect I kind of wish I had used the little striped heart from the set And All the Things to make it look almost like kraft patterned paper - oh well!


 

Bonus card alert! My husband has been known to sneak into my craft room to make me a card here or there. He's pretty crafty too - mostly with wood working and leather working. I told him if he made me a card using Unity stamps I'd add his card to my post. And here it is! The very first all leather Valentine's Day card I've ever received. He used the Little Sumptin' Peep stamp set and StazOn black ink to stamp onto the leather. He used his leather dye to color the leather those different colors. Very cool!



Well, thank you all for stopping by this week. It was great sharing my projects as a Growing in Unity Girl for the first time! I really appreciate all of the kind comments and have enjoyed reading each and every one of them. Have a great weekend!

20170510_080310.jpg

Hi, thanks for stopping by!

I’m Amy Williams and I'm hoping to make this a place for sharing my crafty attempts.

Let the posts
come to you.

Thanks for submitting!

bottom of page