top of page

Growing in Unity - Day 4

Hello Unity Friends! Welcome to day four of my Growing in Unity week for Unity Stamp Company. I have a few more cards to share today. Don't forget to comment each day for a chance to win one of two $20 Unity gift credits to be randomly selected from the comments at the end of my week.


For the first card I'm sharing, I started off with my circle gel press inked up with Evergreen Bough Distress Oxide Ink and splattered with Hickory Smoke Distress Oxide Ink and water for texture to create the circle background. I stamped the cake from Include Yourself in Beauty with VersaFine Clair Nocturne ink and heat embossed with Fairy Dust embossing powder by Brutus Monroe. I colored the cake with Gelly Roll Stardust Pens, stamped sections of the swirly stamp from Time to be Happy Again around the edges with Hickory Smoke Distress Oxide Ink, and embellished with a few Iridescent Bubbles from Studio Katia. The card panel was foam-mounted onto a mat layer glued to the square card base.


My second card is very simple, but I love how it turned out. I stamped the adorable tea pot from A Beautiful Mindset {kom 2/21} and sentiment from Gotta Love Sentiments with Memento Tuxedo Black ink. The tea pot and flowers were colored with Gelly Roll Stardust Pens, I roughed up the edges of the card panel with a Tim Holtz Paper Distresser, embellished with a few jewels, and popped the panel up with foam tape onto a piece of glitter paper glued onto a kraft card base.


My next three cards all feature ink smooshed panels made from distress oxides that were left on my glass mat from other projects. I can't let all that extra ink go to waste so I grab a scrap of cardstock or watercolor paper and ink smoosh a background for later use. For this card I used a scalloped stitched die on patterned paper and foam-mounted it onto the card base. I stamped and clear heat embossed the owl from WooHoo Owl onto the ink smooshed background I pulled out of my stash. The sentiment from the same set was heat embossed in Liquid Platinum, the sentiment strip was colored with Nuvo Aqua Shimmer Pen, and everything was foam-mounted onto the mat layer. I finished the adorable owl with a layer of Glossy Accents over the glasses.


Here a piece of kraft cardstock was die cut and glued to the card base. I found a cool background in my stash that reminded me of the sky and stamped and heat embossed the balloon, clouds, and sentiment from Sending Up Something Beautiful. Everything was colored with Gelly Roll Stardust and Classic Gel pens and the panel was popped up on the kraft layer.


And for my last card I stamped past BOM Around We Go {bkg 5/22} in Salvaged Patina Distress Oxide Ink onto a piece of kraft cardstock, distressed the edges, and glued it onto the card base. I found another cool background in my stash and stamped and heat embossed the floral from Love Dwells Here {kom 4/21}, distressed the edges, foam-mounted it onto the kraft panel, filled the large flower centers with Diamond Stickles, and finished it off with a few Iridescent Bubbles.


Whew. That turned out longer than I originally planned! I hope you liked these cards and will stop by tomorrow for my last post. Don't forget to comment - two $20 gift credits to Unity are up for grabs!

20170510_080310.jpg

Hi, thanks for stopping by!

I’m Amy Williams and I'm hoping to make this a place for sharing my crafty attempts.

Let the posts
come to you.

Thanks for submitting!

bottom of page