top of page

Growing in Unity - Day 3

Hello Unity Friends! Welcome to my third Growing in Unity post for Unity Stamp Company. Today I've got a new card project to share with you all. Don't forget to comment each day for a chance to win one of two $20 Unity gift credits to be awarded at the end of my week.


I thought for today's post I would use one stamp, two different ways. I chose the background stamp Scattered Leaf Print for my two card projects. I also used the Hello and Thanks dies from the set Unity Essential Greetings Dies {thanks & hello}. As you can see below I used the same stamp, but achieved two totally different looks!



For the Thanks card below, I decided to pull out my Deco Foil Transfer Gel Duo (available at Unity) and give that I whirl for the first time. I got carried away and totally forgot to stamp it out with black ink first to help fill in (read: mask!) any parts I didn't cover well enough with the gel. Perhaps I should have tried it out first with a less-detailed stamp, but I kind of like how it turned out! I used a dauber to transfer the gel to the Scattered Leaf Print stamp and stamped it on a piece of 4-1/4" x 5-1/2" kraft card stock. Once the Gel Duo was dry, I cut a piece of Gold Deco Foil (also available at Unity!) to fit my kraft card front, smoothed it over my stamped image - shiny, gold side up, ran it through my die cutting machine (to apply pressure for the foil to stick to the gel), slowly peeled back the transfer sheet, and voila - pretty gold-foiled leaves! I pulled out a Gina Marie Designs labels die to cut the card panel into that fancy shape. I used the Thanks die, cut it out of black card stock 3 times, glued them all together for a little dimension, and adhered them to the card front. I added a layer of Glossy Accents over the top for some shine. I finished it off with a few black jewels and then mounted the card panel onto an A2 sized black card base with some foam tape. I wish I could have captured the gold foil shine a bit better in my photo as it looks better in person, but it's tough to photograph.



For the Hello card below, I stamped the Scattered Leaf Print background stamp with VersaFine Onyx Black ink and embossed with Brutus Monroe Fairy Dust embossing powder. I die cut the card panel with a stitched rectangle die from Gina Marie Designs. To color all those gorgeous leaves I used Sakura Gelly Roll Stardust pens (yup, again - I love them!). You should see the mesmerizing sparkle when you tilt it in the light! I used the opaque Moonlight style pen to color in those two, teeny little hearts a bright, neon pink. I die cut the Hello die from black card stock 3 times, layered and glued them all together for dimension, and then cut tiny little strips of foam tape to fit behind the letters. It's a little tedious for sure, but it looks pretty cool lifted up off the card panel. I again added a layer of Glossy Accents over the top for some serious shine. I finished this card off with a few icy sparkle crystals, foam-mounted the kraft card panel onto a black card stock layer, and then glued all that onto a white, A2 sized card base.



I hope you liked today's two cards and that you'll be back tomorrow to see another project. And here's a little hint about Thursday's project - I'm stamping, but not on paper. Don't forget to comment! Cheers!

20170510_080310.jpg

Hi, thanks for stopping by!

I’m Amy Williams and I'm hoping to make this a place for sharing my crafty attempts.

Let the posts
come to you.

Thanks for submitting!

bottom of page